U.S. History: State Archives

Since 1875 the state archives have preserved the rich heritage of Kansas – its people and their stories. They invite you to take advantage of their resources, whether you’re a researcher, a teacher, a student, a genealogist, or a person interested in Kansas history.

Created by the legislature in 1965, the State Archives serves as the repository for state records of permanent historical value. Its holdings date from 1770 and include: executive, legislative, and judicial records; records of state departments and agencies; land records; military records; state publications; photographic collections; county and municipal records on microfilm; and manuscript and reference collections.

"The Alabama Department of Archives and History (ADAH), founded in 1901, was the nation's first publicly funded, independent state archives agency. Located in Montgomery, ADAH identifies, preserves, and makes accessible records and artifacts of enduring historical value to the state and serves as the official repository for records created by state agencies."

"The Alaska State Archives was established in 1970 in order to preserve permanently valuable government records that document Alaska's history and make these records available in a secure, professional, and responsible manner."

"To provide Arizonans access to information about their government, their state, and their world by offering content in a variety of formats, preserving Arizona's history for future generations, and empowering local institutions to engage their communities in learning."

"One of the oldest existing state agencies in Arkansas, the Arkansas State Archives was created as the Arkansas History Commission (AHC) by the Arkansas General Assembly in 1905 to serve as the official archives of the state. Since then, the Arkansas State Archives has been responsible for collecting and preserving the official records and historical materials for the State of Arkansas."

"The California State Archives, a division of the Office of the Secretary of State, continues to serve in the spirit of those early instructions, providing a repository for the state's permanent governmental records as well as other materials documenting California history. The California State Archives serves a wide variety of researchers whose interests range from legislative intent and public policy to genealogy and railroad history in California."

"Colorado State Archives mission is safeguarding the administrative and documentary history of Colorado by managing, collecting, preserving, and providing access to state and local government records."

"Since 1855 the Connecticut State Library has acquired historical records from the three branches of State government. In 1909, the General Assembly made the State Library the official State Archives. The Archives contains more than 49,000 cubic feet of records documenting the evolution of state public policy and its implementation, the rights and claims of citizens, and the history of Connecticut and its people."

"As the repository for records of Delaware state and local governments, the Delaware Public Archives contains thousands of documents and other materials that can help with researching one’s genealogical roots. Among these records are census materials, vital statistics including birth, death, and marriage records; tax assessments, probate/estate records, land deeds, and military records."

"The State Archives of Florida collects, preserves and makes available for research the historically significant records of the state, as well as private manuscripts, local government records, photographs and other materials that complement the official state records."

"The Georgia Archives identifies, collects, provides access and preserves Georgia’s historical documents."

"A division within the Department of Accounting and General Services, the Hawai‘i State Archives’ mission is to ensure open government by preserving and making accessible the historic records of state government and to partner with state agencies to manage their active and inactive records."

"The Idaho State Archives (ISA) and Research Center provides public access to records of fiscal, administrative, legal, vital and long-term research value to the citizens and government of Idaho. ISA preserves a large and unique collection of materials that relate to the history of Idaho and the Pacific Northwest, including photographs, books, maps, manuscripts, oral histories, and government records."

"The State Archives serves as the depository of public records of Illinois state and local governmental agencies which possess permanent administrative, legal, or historical research values. Its collections do not include manuscript, newspaper, or other nonofficial sources. These records are available to the public, officials, and scholars at the Norton Building and at seven regional depositories located on state university campuses throughout Illinois."

"The Indiana Archives and Records Administration (IARA) assists State and local governments in the cost-effective, efficient and secure management of governmental records, by providing services throughout the life cycle of records, including creation, use, storage, and disposition."

Discover Iowa's rich heritage through a variety of exhibitions, tours, collections and unique programs and events throughout the year.

"The Louisiana State Archives, a division of the Louisiana Secretary of State's office, is mandated to identify, to collect, to preserve, to maintain and to make available those records and artifacts that enhance our endeavors to understand the dynamics and nuances of our state's remarkable history."

"The Maine State Archives, a bureau within the Department of Secretary of State, maintains approximately 8 miles of official State records considered to be permanently valuable. Our historical material includes documents such as the original state constitution, reported election results, legislative bills, and policies and research created by state agencies among much more."

"The State Archives serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Its holdings date from Maryland's founding in 1634, and include colonial and state executive, legislative, and judicial records; county probate, land, and court records; church records; business records; state publications and reports; and special collections of private papers, maps, photographs, and newspapers."

"To ensure the preservation and accessibility of the records of government. To provide assistance to government agencies. To provide leadership to ensure the preservation and accessibility of Massachusetts's historical heritage. To develop appreciation of the value of historical records. The Massachusetts Archives serves the Commonwealth and its citizens by preserving and making accessible the records documenting government action and by assisting government agencies in managing their permanent records."

"The Archives of Michigan is responsible for preserving the records of Michigan government and other public institutions. The collections also include documents, maps, photographs and film from private individuals and organizations."

"We serve all the people of Minnesota by creating powerful engagement with history to cultivate curiosity and foster a more inclusive, empathetic, and informed society."

"The Mississippi Department of Archives and History was founded in 1902 to collect, preserve, and provide access to the archival resources of the state. Our commitment to preservation continues today through the work of the department’s five divisions."

"The Montana Historical Society is the guardian of Montana's memory. Established in 1865, one of the oldest institutions of its kind in the West, the MHS's vast historic collections of artifacts, photographs, and documents are exhibited in six extraordinary galleries. In 1969, we became the official state Archives and the repository for state agency records of permanent value."

"History Nebraska collects, preserves, and opens to all, the histories we share."

"The State Archives is a key component in this examination, establishing the institutional memory for the state, accumulating information of enduring value. As the institutional memory of Nevada government, the State Archives preserves and makes available information that enables all citizens to better understand how public policy evolves from the past, governs the present, and affects the future."

"The Division of Archives & Records Management has two principal functions. One function is to assist state agencies with the efficient and proper management of their records, and in conjunction with that service, provide storage space for their less active records. Our second function is to preserve documentation of the history of New Hampshire state government institutions, and work to make them available to the public in as efficient a manner as possible."

"The State Archives is New Jersey's official research center for public records of enduring historical value. Considering that many vital records, land documents, probate records and military service papers were filed centrally by the Colony and State of New Jersey, the State Archives is a treasure trove for genealogists and historians."

"The New Mexico State Library is committed to providing leadership that promotes effective library services and access to information to all citizens of New Mexico. The State Library provides services that support public libraries as well as delivers direct library services to rural populations, state agencies, the visually impaired and physically disabled, and students and citizens conducting research."

"The New York State Archives leads efforts, on behalf of all New Yorkers, to manage, preserve, ensure open access to, and promote the wide use of, records that support information needs and document the history, governments, events and peoples of our State. We strive for comprehensive, equitable, and accessible documentation of our present, past and future through innovative partnerships and state-of-the-art approaches."

"The Division of Archives and Records is part of the Office of Archives and History and the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. The name “Archives and Records” reflects the dual role of the division: to provide guidance concerning the preservation and management of government records to state, county, city and state university officials; and to collect, preserve and provide public access to historically significant archival materials relating to North Carolina."

"Our Mission: To identify, preserve, interpret, and promote the heritage of North Dakota and its people."

"The Ohio History Connection, formerly the Ohio Historical Society, is a statewide history organization with the mission to spark discovery of Ohio’s stories. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization chartered in 1885, the Ohio History Connection carries out history services for Ohio and its citizens focused on preserving and sharing the state’s history."

"The State Archives preserves the permanent records of the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches of Oklahoma state government. From territorial days forward, subject matter touches a wide variety of political, economic, social and worldly issues."

The mission: "Build trust between Oregonians and their state government so Oregonians can trust the public services and the public servants who can make a difference in their everyday lives."

"The Pennsylvania State Archives collects, preserves and makes available for study the permanently-valuable public records of the Commonwealth, with particular attention given to the records of state government. The State Archives also collects papers of private citizens and organizations relevant to Pennsylvania history."

"The State Archives is home to more than 10 million letters, photographs, and important state documents that form a permanent, tangible record of Rhode Island’s rich history."

"The mission of the Department of Archives and History is to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the state through archival care and preservation, records management, public access, historic preservation, and education."

"Together we empower audiences to experience South Dakota's stories. We professionally collect, preserve, interpret, and publish our history for present and future generations. We are proudly supported by the South Dakota Historical Society Foundation and are an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution."

"The Texas State Library and Archives Commission has been serving the people of Texas for more than a century. Since 1909, when the state founded the agency, we have been supporting the reading, learning, and historical preservation needs of Texas and its people."

"The purpose of the State Archives is to assist Utah government agencies in the efficient management of their records, to preserve those records of enduring value, and to provide quality access to public information."

"The Vermont State Archives and Records Administration (VSARA) is charged with administering the Statewide Records and Information Management (RIM) Program for all public agencies in accordance with generally accepted record-keeping principles and industry standards and best practices."

"As the Commonwealth's library and archives, the Library of Virginia is a trusted educational institution. We acquire, preserve, and promote access to unique collections of Virginia's history and culture and advance the development of library and records management services statewide."

"The Washington State Digital Archives is the nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value."

"The State Archives and Wisconsin Government Publications programs collect, catalog and make available records and publications of permanent value created by Wisconsin state agencies and local units of government."