U.S. History: Historical Societies & Museums

The Kansas Historical Society preserves several different collections related to Kansas history. These collections include archeology and ethnographic, audio visual, documents, historic sites, manuscripts, maps, National Register nominations, objects, and photographs.

The mission of the State Historical Society of Missouri is to collect, preserve, publish, exhibit, and make available material related to all aspects and periods of Missouri history. SHSMO also seeks to generate interest in and appreciation of the rich cultural heritage of the state and its people through education and outreach.

The Alaska Historical Society is dedicated to the promotion of Alaska history by the exchange of ideas and information, the preservation and interpretation of resources, and the education of Alaskans about their heritage.

The Arizona Historical Society (AHS) is proud to serve as the steward of Arizona’s history. "Our collections broadly represent Arizona history that offers a one-of-a-kind resource for Arizona history. Our artifact and manuscript holdings offer unique opportunities for public programming, educational outreach, and exhibitions, as well as academic and community-based research."

Their mission: "To inspire and empower people to make California’s richly diverse past a meaningful part of their contemporary lives."

"Established in 1879, History Colorado is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization and an agency of the State of Colorado under the Department of Higher Education. We are the trusted leader in helping people understand what it means to be a Coloradan—by sharing powerful stories, honoring our state’s treasured memories, and creating vibrant communities."

"Our mission: We cultivate deep understanding of the history and culture of Connecticut, and its role in the United States and the world, through reflection of the past, active engagement with the present, and innovation for the future through our collections, research, educational programs, and exhibitions."

"Since its founding in 1864, the Delaware Historical Society (DHS) has acquired an extraordinary collection of more than 3 million objects, books, documents, photographs, and maps and nine historic buildings related to Delaware’s past and its importance to the nation."

"Established in 1856, the Florida Historical Society is dedicated to preserving Florida's past through the collection and archival maintenance of historical documents and photographs, the publication of scholarly research on Florida history, and educating the public about Florida history through a variety of public history projects and programs..."

Founded in 1839 with the mission to collect, examine, and teach Georgia and American history through education and research.

"THE HAWAIIAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, established in 1892, is a private non-profit organization created by a group of prominent citizens dedicated to preserving historical materials, presenting public lectures, and publishing scholarly research on the history of Hawai’i. Queen Lili’uokalani was an early patron of the Society."

"The Idaho State Historical Society continues to build on a 140-year legacy of preserving and promoting Idaho history. We have grown from our original charge of chronicling the state’s story to engaging Idahoans through inspiring educational services that empower their decision making."

"The Illinois State Historical Society was founded in 1899 to support the Illinois State Historical Library and to encourage research and writing on subjects of Illinois history. Though independent of the State of Illinois and the Historical Library since 1997, the Illinois State Historical Society continues to actively promote the study of Illinois history."

"The Indiana Historical Society collects and preserves Indiana’s unique stories; brings Hoosiers together in remembering and sharing the past; and inspires a future grounded in our state’s uniting values and principles."

"The museum has more than 80,000 objects and about 1,500 objects are on exhibit at any given time. More objects are on display in the capitol building and other museums in Iowa. The State Historical Society of Iowa also provides a variety of programs for schools, groups and individuals at the museum and across the state."

The Kentucky Historical Society's mission is “to collect and preserve authentic information and facts connected with the early history of the State.”

"Founded in 1835, the Louisiana Historical Society is the oldest historical organization in the state. The State of Louisiana first chartered it in 1836, and has rechartered it several times since then. For a number of decades during the 19th century, the society was the official custodian of the colonial records of Louisiana, including the French Superior Council records and the Spanish Judicial Records of the Illustrious Cabildo (local governing body)."

"A growing museum, incomparable library and statewide educational resource, we are located in the heart of Portland’s downtown cultural district. Founded in 1822, the Maine Historical Society is the third oldest state historical society in the United States."

"The Maryland Center for History and Culture collects, preserves, and interprets the history, art, and culture of Maryland. By exploring multiple perspectives and sharing national stories through the lens of Maryland, the MCHC inspires critical thinking, creativity, and community."

"Founded in 1791, the Massachusetts Historical Society is an invaluable resource for American history, life, and culture. Its extraordinary collections tell the story of America through millions of rare and unique documents, artifacts, and irreplaceable national treasures. etc."

"The Historical Society of Michigan (HSM), the state’s oldest cultural organization, helps to connect Michigan’s past to students, educators, historical organizations, and the public through educational programs, conferences, publications, awards, workshops, referral services, networking opportunities, and support for local history organizations."

"We serve all the people of Minnesota by creating powerful engagement with history to cultivate curiosity and foster a more inclusive, empathetic, and informed society."

"The Mississippi Historical Society was organized in Jackson on November 9, 1858, under the scholarly leadership of B.L.C. Wailes, but survived less than two years. It was reorganized in 1890, and by 1898, under the editorship of Franklin L. Riley, the society had issued the first of fourteen volumes of the Publications of the Mississippi Historical Society, a notable series that was to set the tone for other distinguished society publications."

"The Montana Historical Society is the guardian of Montana's memory. Established in 1865, one of the oldest institutions of its kind in the West, the MHS's vast historic collections of artifacts, photographs, and documents are exhibited in six extraordinary galleries. In 1969, we became the official state Archives and the repository for state agency records of permanent value."

"Founded in 1904, the Nevada Historical Society seeks to advance the study of the heritage of Nevada, the Great Basin and the West. The mission of the NHS is to collect, preserve, and educate the public about our shared history through exhibition, artifacts, books, photographs and manuscript materials relating to the state of Nevada, the Great Basin, and the West."

"Since 1823 the New Hampshire Historical Society has been preserving our state's past and telling its stories to each generation. Nowhere will you find a more extensive collection of archives and objects related to New Hampshire's history. The Society is an independent, nonprofit, member-supported organization, not a state-funded agency. All of our work to save, preserve, and share New Hampshire's past depends on membership dues and contributions from people like you."

"The New Jersey Historical Society collects, preserves, teaches and interprets New Jersey history through our archives, research library and educational programs. We do so in the belief that an understanding and appreciation of historical issues, decisions and actions can inform and inspire the people of New Jersey."

"Our mission is to increase and disseminate knowledge of New Mexico and the Southwest Borderlands history through outreach, publications, and educational research, as well as to encourage the preservation of historic objects and property."

"Experience 400 years of history through groundbreaking exhibitions, outstanding collections, immersive films, and thought-provoking conversations among renowned historians and public figures at the New-York Historical Society, New York’s first museum. A great destination for history since 1804, the Museum and the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library convey the stories of the city and nation’s diverse populations, expanding our understanding of who we are as Americans and how we came to be."

"The agencies of the North Carolina Office of Archives and History celebrate history from pre-colonial times to the present. They collectively safeguard documentary and material evidence of earlier generations and provide leadership and assistance to government agencies, individuals, businesses and organizations to further the stewardship of the state's historic resources."

"Our Mission: To identify, preserve, interpret, and promote the heritage of North Dakota and its people."

"The Ohio History Connection, formerly the Ohio Historical Society, is a statewide history organization with the mission to spark discovery of Ohio’s stories. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization chartered in 1885, the Ohio History Connection carries out history services for Ohio and its citizens focused on preserving and sharing the state’s history."

"The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve, and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people."

"The Oregon Historical Society is dedicated to making Oregon’s long, rich history visible and accessible to all. For more than a century, we have served as the state’s collective memory, gathering and preserving a vast collection of artifacts, photographs, films, manuscripts, books, and oral histories."

"The Historical Society of Pennsylvania, founded in 1824, is one of the nation’s largest archives of historical documents. We are proud to serve as Philadelphia’s Library of American History, with over 21 million manuscripts, books, and graphic images encompassing centuries of US history."

"Statement of Purpose: As an important cultural institution in Rhode Island, we use materials and knowledge of the past to explore topics of timeless relevance and current public interest and benefit. Inside and outside of the walls of our buildings, the RIHS encourages broad engagement in the diversity of experiences we offer. We develop and deploy our collections, knowledge, connections, and expertise to build relationships between individuals, organizations, and communities to enhance understanding and empathy, and to engender pride of place."

"An architectural treasure in its own right, the South Carolina Historical Society Museum is housed in a National Historic Landmark building and features interactive exhibits on the people, places, and movements that shaped the state and nation."

"Together we empower audiences to experience South Dakota's stories. We professionally collect, preserve, interpret, and publish our history for present and future generations. We are proudly supported by the South Dakota Historical Society Foundation and are an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution."

"Founded in 1849, the Tennessee Historical Society is the oldest continually operating historical organization in Tennessee. Until the early 20th century, the THS focused on collecting documents and artifacts related to Tennessee’s natural, aboriginal, and civil history. The artifact collection became the basis for the Tennessee State Museum, and the documents, which include manuscripts dating back to the colonial era, are now housed at the Tennessee State Library and Archives."

"To foster the appreciation, understanding, and teaching of the rich and unique history of Texas and, by example and through programs and activities, encourage and promote research, preservation, and publication of historical material affecting the state of Texas."

"In 1897, public-spirited Utahns organized the Utah State Historical Society in order to expand public understanding of Utah's past. Today, the Utah Division of State History administers the Society and as part of its statutory obligations, publishes the Utah Historical Quarterly, which has collected and preserved Utah's unique history since 1928."

"The Vermont Historical Society engages both Vermonters and "Vermonters at heart" in the exploration of our state's rich heritage. Our purpose is to reach a broad audience through our outstanding collections, statewide outreach, and dynamic programming. We believe that an understanding of the past changes lives and builds better communities."

"Our mission is to connect people to America's past through the unparalleled story of Virginia. By collecting, preserving, and interpreting the Commonwealth's history, we link past with present and inspire future generations."

"Founded in 1891 and now into its second century of service, the Washington State Historical Society is dedicated to collecting, preserving, and vividly presenting Washington’s rich and storied history. The Historical Society offers a variety of services to researchers, historians, scholars, and lifelong learners, as well as operating the State History Research Center and the Washington State History Museum."

"The Roanoke History Museum, the O. Winston Link Museum and the Historical Society of Western Virginia shall preserve, interpret and promote the history of the Roanoke region; collect, preserve, interpret, and make available materials relating to that history; sponsor research and publication in the field of regional history, and provide educational services to people and institutions throughout southwestern Virginia."

"The Wisconsin Historical Society connects people to the past by collecting, preserving, and sharing stories."

"For more than half a century the Wyoming State Historical Society (WSHS), an independent, non-profit organization with more than twenty-one chapters across the state, and its many members from throughout the United States and Europe, have been promoting the collection and preservation of Wyoming’s history. Since its beginnings in 1953, the Society has also served as a strong advocate for Wyoming’s historical resources."