U.S. History: National Archives & Historical Societies

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by NARA forever.

The National Constitution Center brings together people of all ages and perspectives, across America and around the world, to learn about, debate, and celebrate the greatest vision of human freedom in history, the U.S. Constitution.

The World War II Japanese American Internment Museum periodically offers professional development workshops for teachers in cooperation with McGehee Schools.

The story of Battle of Pea Ridge is not just about generals, and tactics. It is about the volunteer soldiers who fought here, from both sides. It is about the civilians who saw a battle rage in their fields and wounded men brought to their homes. View biographies of the battle's leaders, or read excerpts from letters and diaries of soldiers. Take an online tour of the Pea Ridge battlefield. Learn more about the units that fought here through the Order of Battle.

Bent's Old Fort National Historic Site features a reconstructed 1840s adobe fur trading post on the mountain branch of the Santa Fe Trail where traders, trappers, travelers, and the Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes came together in peaceful terms for trade. Today, living historians recreate the sights, sounds, and smells of the past with guided tours, demonstrations and special events.

On June 29, 1906, President Theodore Roosevelt established Mesa Verde National Park to "preserve the works of man," the first national park of its kind. Today, the continued preservation of both cultural and natural resources is the focus of the park's research and resource management staff.

The Ute Indian Museum connects the past with contemporary Ute life and culture. Exhibits focus on the Ute peoples’ history of adaptation and persistence, and unfold around a central theme of geography, highlighting significant locations in Ute history. Through stunning exhibitions, visitors explore topics of Ute cultural survival, political determination, economic opportunity, and the celebration of the Bear Dance.

The Harriet Beecher Stowe Center preserves and interprets Stowe’s Hartford home and the Center’s historic collections, promotes vibrant discussion of her life and work, and inspires commitment to social justice and positive change.

Andersonville National Historic Site began as a stockade built about 18 months before the end of the U.S. Civil War to hold Union Army prisoners captured by Confederate soldiers. Located deep behind Confederate lines, the 26.5-acre Camp Sumter (named for the south Georgia county it occupied) was designed for a maximum of 10,000 prisoners.

In 1890, the battlefields of Chickamauga and Chattanooga became the nation’s first official military park. President Benjamin Harrison signed the designation into law on August 19 – five years before a similar status was conferred on Gettysburg and 26 years before the establishment of the National Park Service.

After the War of 1812 there was a push by the United States to better protect its maritime interests. From 1816 through the end of the American civil war in the 1860s, the United States constructed over forty state of the art coastal fortifications, which includes Fort Pulaski, which was built to protect the port of Savannah. Construction of the fort began in 1829 and took 18 years to complete.

The Jimmy Carter National Historic Site and Preservation District was established by Congress in 1987 by Public Law 100-206. The historic site consists of the Plains railroad depot, Jimmy Carter’s boyhood home, Plains High School, the Carter compound, and 100 feet of scenic easements along both sides of Old Plains Highway (U.S. 280) west of Plains. The preservation district consists of a historic district and 650 acres of various agricultural lands. The park –comprised of the site and district- is in and around the incorporated city of Plains, Georgia.

On February 18, 1917, Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Site was established under the War Department under President Woodrow Wilson. On June 26, 1935, it transferred from the War Department to the National Park Service under President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park was born!

Their mission is to be a vibrant resource, strengthening their diverse community by educating present and future generations in the evolving Japanese American experience in Hawai‘i. They do this through relevant programming, meaningful community service and innovative partnerships that enhance the understanding and celebration of our heritage, culture and love of the land. To guide us in this work we draw from the values found in our Japanese American traditions and the spirit of Aloha.

Just as the luster of a pearl seems to change with the shifting light of day, so has Pearl Harbor changed in the shifting light of history. This remarkable port, home to the great US Pacific Fleet, has been called "majestic," one of the greatest harbors in the Pacific. In fact, it's long been the envy of every nation that has tried to control it. The sheltered blue-green oasis glitters with scenic, historic and strategic importance -- importance that predates the attack that drew the United States into World War II. Long before the morning of December 7, 1941, Pearl Harbor had been captivating people with its dramatic beauty and provocative history.

Nez Perce National Historical Park commemorates the contributions the Nez Perce have made and help protect and preserve sites, stories, and artifacts associated with their history and culture.

Lincoln Home National Historic Site was authorized by President Richard Nixon on August 18, 1971 and formally established on October 9, 1972, to preserve and protect the only home ever owned by President Abraham Lincoln. In total, the buildings included in the park make up four-and-a-half square blocks on 12 acres.

The Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site and Candlelight Theatre partner to offer exceptional theatre performances on a stage unlike any other. Each season features 19th and early 20th-century plays within the 23rd President's historic mansion, which provides an authentic backdrop.

The Henry Clay Memorial Foundation owns and operates the Ashland Estate today and is dedicated to preserving Henry Clay’s historic estate and important legacy for future generations. Governed by a diverse volunteer board of directors, the Foundation is working to ensure Ashland remains a vibrant and progressive National Historic Landmark and community resource.

The Mary Todd Lincoln House, located on West Main Street in downtown Lexington, Kentucky, was the family home of the future wife of the sixteenth President of the United States. In 1977, the girlhood home opened to the public and became the first house museum in the country to honor a First Lady.

While visiting the battlefield, you will notice several tablets, markers, monuments and cannons that dot the landscape. All are part of the long term preservation and interpretation of the battlefield.

Adams National Historical Park includes the birthplaces of the second and sixth presidents of the United States, John Adams and John Quincy Adams, along with the Old House at Peace field, home to both presidents and four generations of their distinguished family.

Longfellow House-Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site preserves the home of Henry W. Longfellow, one of the world’s foremost 19th century poets. The house also served as headquarters for General George Washington during the Siege of Boston, July 1775 - April 1776. In addition to its rich history, the site offers unique opportunities to explore 19th century literature and arts.

Lowell National Historical Park is a proud division of the National Park Service, whose goal is and always has been "...conserving unimpaired the natural and cultural resources and values of the National Park System for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future generations." Because of its location in an urban downtown, Lowell has traditionally focused on its cultural connections and resources.

Shiloh National Military Park contains a wide array of historic sites. In addition to the battlefield of Shiloh itself, the park contains a separate unit at Corinth, Mississippi, that preserves and interprets the Siege and Battle of Corinth.

Vicksburg National Military Park was set aside in 1899 to preserve and interpret the siege and defense lines of a crucial Civil War battle. When the site was passed from the War Department to the National Park Service in 1933, the Park Service acquired a property containing a vast array of historical and natural resources. True to its mission, the National Park Service today is actively managing all of the park's resources, ensuring that the outstanding natural resources present in this military park are not overlooked.

The Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail is approximately 4,900 miles long, extending from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, to the mouth of the Columbia River, near present day Astoria, Oregon. It follows the historic outbound and inbound routes of the Lewis and Clark Expedition as well as the preparatory section from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Wood River, Illinois.

From 1892 to 1924, Ellis Island was America's largest and most active immigration station, where over 12 million immigrants were processed. On average, the inspection process took approximately 3-7 hours. For the vast majority of immigrants, Ellis Island truly was an "Island of Hope" - the first stop on their way to new opportunities and experiences in America.

Eleanor Roosevelt was the former First Lady of the United States, activist, and one of the most influential leaders of the twentieth century. As wife of President Franklin D. Roosevelt, she played a key role in leading the nation through two national crises, the Great Depression and World War II. Through her activism and post-war diplomacy, she played a key role in the development of civil and human rights for all people.

Welcoming visitors since 1909, Fort Ticonderoga preserves 2,000 acres of historic landscape on Lake Champlain, and Carillon Battlefield, and the largest series of untouched Revolutionary War era earthworks surviving in America.

The National Park Service has the honor of protecting sacred places and histories for the American people, many of which explore enslavement, emancipation, and the fight for equality that are integral to the American experience.

Born on December 5, 1782, Van Buren was the first future president born a citizen of the United States. He lived to see that nation devolve into Civil War. He died as he was born, a resident of Kinderhook, NY, in a slaveholding republic at war. But in that time, nearly everything else had changed.

Their mission is to reveal authentic stories of Underground Railroad freedom seekers and abolitionists in Niagara Falls that inspire visitors to recognize modern injustices that stem from slavery and take action toward an equitable society.

The Mansion House is the historic home of the utopian Oneida Community (1848-1880). Today, the non-profit organization, the Oneida Community Mansion House (OCMH) tells the story of America’s most successful experimental community and the joint stock company that emerged after its breakup.

When Saratoga Battlefield became a New York State historical site in 1927, the site finally had its long-awaited formal recognition. Under Superintendent George Slingerland, it gained acreage, visitor amenities, and interpretive offerings.

The mission statement is to interpret and commemorate the significance of the Battle of Guilford Courthouse in the American Revolution through the preservation and protection of the battlefield and the important monuments and graves that commemorate and memorialize key persons and events associated with the battle and the United States' struggle for independence.

First Ladies National Historic Site is the home to an extensive collection of stories, places, and artifacts. Representing all of the First Ladies of the United Staes - past and present - our site covers a large expanse of American history. Explore the "History and Culture" pages to learn more about the lives and legacies of the first ladies, the historic buildings at the park site, and our museum/archival collection.

James Abram Garfield had a remarkable life. Born in a log cabin in 1831 rising to presidency in 1881. Learn more about his life as a young man, Civil War General, Congressman, and President of the United States.

The National Underground Railroad Freedom Center is a museum of conscience, an education center, a convener of dialogue, and a bea­con of light for inclusive freedom around the globe.

After more than 20 years of dreaming and planning, the Chickasaw Cultural Center now serves as a cultural home and an embodiment of our people’s legacy. Offering a Smithsonian-caliber experience, this world-class destination is dedicated to helping people of all ages and backgrounds share in and celebrate Chickasaw history and culture.

Eisenhower National Historic Site preserves the farm of General and 34th President Dwight D. Eisenhower. Adjacent to the Gettysburg battlefield, the farm served the president and first lady as a weekend retreat and as a meeting place for world leaders. With its peaceful setting and view of South Mountain, it was a respite from Washington, DC, and a backdrop for efforts to reduce Cold War tensions.

The battle at Fort Necessity in the summer of 1754 was the opening action of the French and Indian War. This war was a clash of British, French and American Indian cultures. It ended with the removal of French power from North America. The stage was set for the American Revolution.

In the years after the Revolutionary War the land west of the Appalachian Mountains was the American frontier. Albert Gallatin was attracted to this region and the potential it held. In 1786 he purchased property in western Pennsylvania which he named Friendship Hill.

The Battle of Gettysburg was a turning point in the Civil War, the Union victory that ended General Robert E. Lee's second and most ambitious invasion of the North. Often referred to as the "High Water Mark of the Rebellion", Gettysburg was the Civil War's bloodiest battle and was also the inspiration for President Abraham Lincoln's immortal "Gettysburg Address".

Valley Forge is the encampment site of the Continental Army during the winter of 1777-1778. The park features 3,500 acres of monuments, meadows, and woodlands commemorating the sacrifices and perseverance of the Revolutionary War generation and honoring the power of people to pull together and overcome adversity during extraordinary times.

Charles Pinckney was a principal author and signer of the United States Constitution. This remnant of his coastal plantation is preserved to tell the story of a "founding father," his life of public service, the lives of enslaved African Americans on South Carolina Lowcountry plantations and their influences on Charles Pinckney.

A pasturing area at the time of the battle, this Revolutionary War site commemorates the place where Daniel Morgan and his army turned the flanks of Banastre Tarleton's British army. This classic military tactic, known as a double envelopment, was one of only a few in history.

The first fort on Sullivan's Island, constructed of palmetto logs and sand, was still incomplete when Commodore Sir Peter Parker of the Royal Navy and nine British men-of-war attacked it on June 28, 1776.

Andrew Johnson's complex presidency (1865-69) illustrates the Constitution at work following the Civil War. As the President and Congress disagreed on Reconstruction methods, the Constitution served as their guide on balance of powers, vetoes, and impeachment. In the end, it evolved as a living document with pivotal amendments on freedom, citizenship, and voting rights - topics still vital today.

In 1863, Union and Confederate forces fought for control of Chattanooga, known as the "Gateway to the Deep South." The Confederates were victorious at nearby Chickamauga in September. However, renewed fighting in Chattanooga that November provided Union troops victory and control of the city.

The mission of the Andrew Jackson Foundation is to preserve the home place of Andrew Jackson, to create learning opportunities and to inspire citizenship through experiencing the life and unique impact of Jackson.

Shiloh National Military Park contains a wide array of historic sites. In addition to the battlefield of Shiloh itself, the park contains a separate unit at Corinth, Mississippi, that preserves and interprets the Siege and Battle of Corinth.

The Battle of Stones River began on the last day of 1862 and was one of the bloodiest conflicts of the Civil War. The battle produced important military and political gains for the Union, and it changed forever the people who lived and fought here.

On April 9, 1865, the surrender of the Army of Northern Virginia in the McLean House in the village of Appomattox Court House, Virginia signaled the end of the nation's largest war. Two important questions about its future were answered. Could the nation survive a civil war intact, and would that nation exist without slavery? The answer to both was yes and a new nation was born.

Arlington House is the nation’s memorial to Robert E. Lee. It honors him for specific reasons, including his role in promoting peace and reunion after the Civil War. In a larger sense it exists as a place of study and contemplation of the meaning of some of the most difficult aspects of American history: military service; sacrifice; citizenship; duty; loyalty; slavery and freedom.

The Shenandoah Valley invites you to learn about its rich heritage, from Native Americans who first shaped the land, to pioneers of this frontier; this fertile area became one of the most important wheat producing regions of the entire South. The Valley also witnessed some of the most dramatic events of the Civil War, including the Battle of Cedar Creek, a decisive October 19, 1864 Union victory.

Colonial Williamsburg is the largest outdoor living museum in the country, upholding our educational mission through immersive, authentic 18th-century experiences and programming for our guests.

The Valentine has been collecting, preserving and interpreting Richmond Stories for over a century. Located in the heart of historic downtown, the Valentine uses the complicated and nuanced history of this important region to challenge and inspire a diverse audience.

Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Wilderness, and Spotsylvania--this is America's battleground, where the Civil War roared to its bloody climax.

Nine and a half months, 70,000 casualties, the suffering of civilians, thousands of U. S. Colored Troops fighting for the freedom of their race, and the decline of Gen. Robert E. Lee's Army of No. Virginia all describe the Siege of Petersburg. It was here Gen. Ulysses S. Grant cut off all of Petersburg's supply lines ensuring the fall of Richmond on April 3, 1865. Six days later, Lee surrendered.

Walk in the steps of Captain John Smith and Pocahontas where a successful English colonization of North America began. Despite early struggles to survive, the 1607 settlement evolved into a prosperous colony. As the colony expanded, the Virginia Indians were pushed out of their homeland. In 1619, the arrival of Africans was recorded, marking the origin of slavery in English North America.

On July 21, 1861, two armies clashed for the first time on the fields overlooking Bull Run. Heavy fighting swept away any notion of a quick war. In August 1862, Union and Confederate armies converged for a second time on the plains of Manassas. The Confederates won a solid victory bringing them to the height of their power.

For almost 100 years, Monticello has been maintained and kept open to the public by the Thomas Jefferson Foundation, Inc., which owns over 2,500 acres of Jefferson's 5,000-acre plantation. As a private, nonprofit 501(c)3 corporation, the Foundation receives no ongoing federal, state, or local funding in support of its dual mission of preservation and education.

ontpelier is more than just the home of one of America's Founding Fathers. It's a place where we can learn how our Constitution affects our everyday lives. It's an ongoing archaeological dig that tells us more about 18th century life every day. It's a destination for anyone who wants to know more about how the thinking of James Madison changed the world.

The mission of the Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association is to preserve, restore, and manage the estate of George Washington to the highest standards and to educate visitors and people throughout the world about the life and legacies of George Washington, so that his example of character and leadership will continue to inform and inspire future generations.

A National Historic Landmark, Stratford Hall preserves the legacy of the Lee family and its surrounding community, inspires an appreciation of America’s past, and encourages commitment to the ideals of leadership, honor, independent thought, and civic responsibility.

Discover what it took for the United States to be independent as you explore the site of the last major battle of the Revolutionary War. Here at Yorktown, in the fall of 1781, General George Washington, with allied American and French forces, besieged General Charles Lord Cornwallis’s British army. On October 19, Cornwallis surrendered, effectively ending the war and ensuring independence.

Find yourself at the confluence of history and nature. Experience a flash point that ignited the Civil War. Find your story in the struggle for freedom, education, and civil rights. Explore the rolling Blue Ridge mountains and rushing waters of the Shenandoah and Potomac rivers.

During the Civil War, Ford’s Theatre was one of Washington’s top entertainment venues, giving Washingtonians a much-needed break from the realities of war. President Lincoln, who loved theatre, opera and Shakespeare, visited Ford’s Theatre on at least 10 formal occasions.

Home to the National Woman's Party for more than 90 years, this was the epicenter of the struggle for women's rights. From this house in the shadow of the U.S. Capitol and Supreme Court, Alice Paul and the NWP developed innovative strategies and tactics to advocate for the Equal Rights Amendment and equality for women.