English and Literature: Online Resources

Online performances of Shakespeare's plays from around the globe.

The MRLO contains over 4,000 entries and 200 plus illustrations covering pre-modern European history and culture.

The REM is a cross-disciplinary resource for students and researchers covering several subject areas: literature, architecture, visual arts, music, dance, theatre, film and intellectual currents.

Encyclopedia covering a wide variety of subjects.

Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S.

This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet community since 1993.

New York Public Library's links to Deconstruction, Eco-literature, Feminist and Gender, General Resources in Literary Criticism, Post-colonialism, Post-modernism, Reader Response and Semiotics

Scholarly full text biographies and bibliographies on thousands of Americans.

Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.

The Chaucer Biography Online website "...includes materials from the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography published annually in Studies in the Age of Chaucer and is sponsored by the NCS and the library of the University of Texas at San Antonio. It is currently maintained by Mark Allen of the University of Texas at San Antonio."

The most complete historical record of the English language

An online dictionary covering the first six centuries of the English language (600 - 1150 A.D.)

Provides access to three Middle English electronic resources: Middle English Dictionary, Bibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.