The names of Park University students and alumni that served during the Spanish-American War were collected from publications of The Stylus (Park's student newspaper; Volume 7, 1901-02) as well as various volumes of the Narva yearbook.
Surviving personnel files held in the University's Frances Fishburn Archives and Special Collections, along with the genealogical expertise of researchers in Parks' George S.Robb Centre for the Study of the Great War, finalized biographical information, service information and sketches on each service member.
Photos, documents or letter held in the personnel files and in public records provided assistance with the narratives authored in this collection.
Click below to read more.
The Spanish-American War (1898): Park University's Collection of Student and Alumni Veterans
Park University [Park College from 1875-2000] had the occasion, from 1943 to 1945, to be one of 131 higher education institutions that enrolled 125,000 sailors in the V-12 Navy College Training Program. Rear Admiral Randall Jacobs, Chief of the Bureau of Naval Personnel, in May 1943, stated the purpose of the V-12 program was “to give prospective naval officers the benefits of college education in those areas most needed by the Navy. We desire . . . to preserve the normal pattern of college life. We are contracting . . . for the highest teaching skill, the best judgment, and the soundest administration of which the colleges are capable. We desire . . . the best undergraduate education the colleges can offer.”
Click below to read more.
Park University and the U.S. Navy V-12 Program
The names of Park University women alumni and students that served during World War II were collected from publications of The Stylus, alumni reunion publications, and various volumes of the Narva yearbook.
Surviving personnel files held in the University's Frances Fishburn Archives and Special Collections, along with the genealogical expertise of researchers in Parks' George S.Robb Centre for the Study of the Great War, finalized biographical information, service information and sketches on each service member.
Photos, documents or letter held in the personnel files and in public records provided assistance with the narratives authored in this collection.
Click below to read more (redirects to a new website).
Women of World War II (1941-1945): Park University Alumni Student Veterans Collection
Fishburn Archives
Park University
8700 NW River Park Dr., CMB 117
Parkville, MO 64152
816-584-6891
Email us: Archives@park.edu
|
Park University Library 8700 NW River Park Drive, Box 61 - Parkville, MO - 64152 |
Phone: (816) 584-6285Toll-free: (800) 270-4347 |