Skip to Main Content

Frances Fishburn Archives

History of Platte County

Platte County embraces an exceptional position in Missouri history.  Excluded from the original state of Missouri, the Iowa, Sac, and Fox First Nations, in 1836, signed the Platte Purchase Treaty to terminate their claims, receiving $7,500, livestock, and cabins.  The new purchase formed the counties of Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, Nodaway, and Platte.  On 28 March 1837, the Platte Territory officially opened to settlement. 

Park University Library
8700 NW River Park Drive, Box 61 - Parkville, MO - 64152
Phone: (816) 584-6285
Toll-free: (800) 270-4347