Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
Access book titles via keyword or phrase searching, or by using a form to indicate reading level, genre, language, historical period, gender of the protagonist, and ethnicity of the protagonist, among other elements. Books listed have been recognized with awards ranging from the Caldecott Award to ALA Notable Books for Children.
Enter a book you like and the site will analyze their huge database of real readers' favorite books to provide book recommendations and suggestions for what to read next.
A new way to choose where the reader is in control! Choose books by emotion, mood, location, character, plot and more!
Junior Library Guild: Book Categories
Browse books lists by category, topic, age, or interest.
These website offer greater context to finding internet sources on adolescent literature.
Blog by Debbie Reese.
Dedicated to encouraging, promoting and supporting the reading, writing, illustrating and publishing of Canadian books for young readers.
A searchable database to find picture books by subject or thematic unit.
Turn the pages to explore bygone eras, time-honored tales and historical narratives. Adventure awaits in these classic books online. A new resource offered by the Library of Congress.
From the University of Wisconsin-Madison
This database is designed to "create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards."
The ICDL's mission is to provide a "collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world." Use this site to find books from other countries and in other languages.
Includes reviews of tolerance-related books and other resources.
Diversity & Inclusion is a critical part of young adult literature. These sites and organizations are focused on promoting a diverse range of literature.
Access a copy of the Association for Library Service to Children's (ALSC) "The Importance of Diversity in Library Programs and Material Collections for Children" white paper. This paper explores the critical role libraries play in helping children make cross-cultural connections and develop skills necessary to function in a culturally pluralistic society.
Blog by Debbie Reese.
American Indians in Children's Literature Recommended Children's/YA/Reference/Resource Books
Collaborative for Equity in Literacy Learning (CELL) - multicultural literature
The ICDL's mission is to provide a "collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world." Use this site to find books from other countries and in other languages.
From Humanities Montana
Reviews and more about Native American books.
|
Park University Library 8700 NW River Park Drive, Box 61 - Parkville, MO - 64152 |
Phone: (816) 584-6285Toll-free: (800) 270-4347 |
