Skip to Main Content

EN 320: Adolescent Literature: EN 320: Adolescent Literature

  • URL: https://library.park.edu/en320

Adolescent Literature @ Park!

Woven in Moonlight

One of Time magazine's 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time! A lush tapestry of magic, romance, and revolución, drawing inspiration from Bolivian politics and history.

Watch Us Rise

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Award-winning author Renée Watson teams up with poet Ellen Hagan in this YA feminist anthem about raising your voice. Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission--they're sick of the way women are treated even at their progressive NYC high school, so they decide to start a Women's Rights Club.

Full Disclosure

The uplifting story of an HIV-positive teen, falling in love and learning to live her truth. Simone Garcia-Hampton is starting over at a new school, and this time things will be different. 

Looking for Alaska Deluxe Edition

Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award. Miles Halter is fascinated by famous last words--and tired of his safe life at home.

Indivisible

This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts to keep his family together as his parents face deportation.

Concrete Rose

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

Xoxo

Jenny's never had much time for boys, K-pop, or really anything besides her dream of being a professional cellist. But when she finds herself falling for a K-pop idol, she has to decide whether their love is worth the risk. A modern forbidden romance wrapped in the glamorous and exclusive world of K-pop, XOXO is perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Maurene Goo.

Grown

"Never have I read a story that so flawlessly hits the highest high and lowest low notes of Black girlhood in pursuit of the American Dream." --Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Jackpot

Realm Breaker

Irresistibly action-packed and full of lethal surprises, this stunning new fantasy series from Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Queen series, begins where hope is lost and asks: When the heroes have fallen, who will take up the sword?

You Say It First

An addictive, irresistible YA novel about two teens from different worlds who fall for each other after a voter registration call turns into a long-distance romance--from Katie Cotugno, the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days. Perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi, Robin Benway, and Nicola Yoon.

EN 320: Adolescent Literature


This guide will provide resources for your to conduct academic research and literary analysis on Adolescent Literature.

Database Best Bets!


Notable Young Adult Literature Awards


printz awardThe Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.

 

 

stonewall book award logoStonewall Book Award

The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table, or exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

 

 

the randolph caldecott medal imageRandolph Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

 

Newbery Medal imageJohn Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

 

William Allen White Children's Book Award | The Official SiteWilliam Allen White Children's Book Award

The William Allen White Children’s Book Award is the oldest statewide Children’s book award in the United States. William Allen White was an American author, politician, leader of the Progressive movement and the newspaper editor of The Emporia Gazette.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Camille Abdel-Jawad
she/her/hers
Need research help? Meet with me via Zoom or In-Person! https://calendly.com/camille-abdeljawad/research-assistance
Office Contact:
Parkville Campus
Norrington Center, Room 204
816-584-6282
Park University Library
8700 NW River Park Drive, Box 61 - Parkville, MO - 64152
Phone: (816) 584-6285
Toll-free: (800) 270-4347