Need some help with these frequently-used terms?
Peer-reviewed journals (often called "scholarly" or "academic" journals) contain original research articles.
These articles have been reviewed by other scholars in the field - the authors' academic peers. The reviewers work to ensure the integrity and quality of the research being reported upon.
Empirical articles are based on experimentation or observation. In other words, they describe the results of research. Peer-reviewed articles usually describe empirical research.
Peer-reviewed articles may describe either qualitative or quantitative research.
Qualitative research tries to understand who, what, how, when, and why. It explores the nature of something. Typical approaches include observation, interviews, and focus groups.
Quantitative research describes how much or how often. It relies on statistics and variables to prove or disprove something.
Here's a short video describing the difference.
This guide provides resources that may be helpful when searching for datasets for research.
Business Source Ultimate contains all content from Business Source Complete and Premier, and much more. Features full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Search this top business resource for peer-reviewed articles covering such topics as management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Also find business cases, company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and country economic reports. All content from Business Source Premier and Business Source Complete is included in Business Source Ultimate.
One of the top databases for business, marketing, management, and related fields. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Includes business case studies, in-depth statistical data, company and industry profiles, SWOT and market share reports, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Provides full-text to more than 2,300 business-related journals. Includes industry & market research reports and country reports. All content from Business Source Premier is included in Business Source Complete and Business Source Ultimate.
Accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice.
Offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines—with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
Provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs.
|
Park University Library 8700 NW River Park Drive, Box 61 - Parkville, MO - 64152 |
Phone: (816) 584-6285Toll-free: (800) 270-4347 |
