Library: Data for Healthcare Research: Healthcare Datasets &amp; Statistics

Data: U.S. Government

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
This is a government agency that provides healthcare information for patients, professionals and policy makers.
American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
Annual Capital Expenditures (ACES)
The Annual Capital Expenditures Survey (ACES) provides data on capital spending for new and used structures and equipment by U.S. nonfarm businesses with and without employees.
Current Population Survey (CPS)
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of households conducted by the Bureau of Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics.
Data.Census.Gov - U.S. Census Bureau Data Portal
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
DATA.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Fast Stats
This site is from the Centers for Disease Control. It provides quick access to information on health-related data.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is part of the US National Library of Medicine.
National Center for Health Statistics
This is part of the Centers for Disease Control site. It provides national health statistics, including vital records, population surveys, and provider surveys.
National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is a federal agency that provides information on health research and statistics, publications, and health topics.

Vital Statistics

Vital statistics are data on "vital events," namely births, deaths, and civil activities like marriages and divorces.

National Vital Statistics System
The Division of Vital Statistics is part of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). This website is the starting point for information on:

Birth data
Mortality data
Fetal death data
Linked birth and death data
Marriages and divorces
National Maternal and Infant Health Survey
National Mortality Followback Survey

Data Repositories & Archives

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
UN Data Portal
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
The World Bank World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

General Resources

Bone and Joint Initiative
This is the site for the United States Bone and Joint Initiative (USBJI), a non-profit organization that focuses on bone and joint health and offers statistics on this.
Commonwealth Fund
The Commonwealth Fund works to promote a high-performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society’s most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, and people of color.
Global Health Observatory
Users of this site can get health statistics for each country. It is provided by the World Health Organization.
Health and Medical Care Data Archive
This archive from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation contains information related to health and health care in the United States.
Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (H-CUP)
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. The project includes a number of datasets and sample studies listed under the information icon.
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health. The WHO Constitution states its main objective as "the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health".