Social Work: Data & Statistics

This is the research site for the AARP organization, which is described as the nation's largest nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to helping Americans 50 and older choose how they live as they age.

The CDC Mental Health Group works to increase the public's awareness of mental illness.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. Their mission is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families.

The Child Trends DataBank is an online resource for indicators of child and family well-being and associated measures. The DataBank includes close to 100 population-based measures, covering the domains of health and safety, child care and education, and behaviors linked to positive and negative well-being.

A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children, youth, and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as the public to information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more.

This site is from the Centers for Disease Control. It provides quick access to information on health-related data.

This forum’s goal is to encourage cooperation and collaboration among Federal agencies in order to improve the quality and utility of data on the aging population.

An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

This site is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families.

MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is part of the US National Library of Medicine.

MedlinePlus links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies. Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender individuals have special health concerns besides the usual ones that affect most men and women. On this page you'll find information about these specific health issues, including clinical studies, statistical data, and journal articles.

MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends.

Support and advocacy group

This is part of the Centers for Disease Control site. It provides national health statistics, including vital records, population surveys, and provider surveys.

A resource since 1988, the National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field.

The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

This is the statistics page for the National Institute of Mental Health. Visitors to this site will find data on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders, along with statistics on mental health-related disability and suicide.

The mission of the Odum Institute for Research in Social Science is to foster groundbreaking social research that improves the lives of people in North Carolina and around the world.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Social work is an interdisciplinary field which intersects such contrasting fields as psychology, sociology, public policy, health care, education and other disciplines. The toolkit is organized by broad subject areas, some of which are then subdivided into more specific topic areas.

The Social Work Policy Institute (SWPI) is a think tank established within the NASW Foundation. It examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services.

This is the site for the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor, which is responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.

This is the site for access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool which has collections of data on a variety of topics. This page was developed for people to search health and mental health data by country, indicator, or topic.

Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

The Henry A. Murray Research Archive is the endowed, permanent repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science. Our collection comprises over 125 terabytes of data, audio, and video.

The mission of the Odum Institute for Research in Social Science is to foster groundbreaking social research that improves the lives of people in North Carolina and around the world.

Our World in Data is about Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems.

Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, located at Cornell
University, is the world’s leading archive of public opinion survey
data.