LGBTQ+ populations have been historically marginalized socially, politically, and academically. Because of this history of marginalization, anyone researching LGBTQ+ issues or populations should be aware of potential historical biases that may be found in otherwise scholarly sources.
This guide contains many non-peer reviewed academic resources. Journals may have rejected or otherwise not published materials relating to LGBTQ+ issues, and thus, the most robust collections on LGBTQ+ issues and people may not be traditional academic collections.
Restricting the term "scholarly" to refer solely to peer-reviewed sources can be unnecessarily limiting when researching topics related to historically marginalized populations. We encourage anyone with questions about the credibility or legitimacy of sources to contact a librarian for discussion.
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Search for biographies based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, or other keywords.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes some of the most important English-language social science journals.
|
Park University Library 8700 NW River Park Drive, Box 61 - Parkville, MO - 64152 |
Phone: (816) 584-6285Toll-free: (800) 270-4347 |
