FYE100: Park History

Learn About Park!

Park University has a rich history. Founded in 1875, there are a number of resources you can use to learn about Park's history.

Free at the Information Desk are copies of A Chronicle of Memories: Park College - 1875-1990. This book details Park's founding and history up to 1990. Also available on reserve at the Information Desk are copies of Fides et Labor: The Story of Park University, and History of Platte County, Missouri.

Frances Fishburn Archives and Special Collections

The Fishburn Archives and Special Collections, located in the Academic Underground, houses manuscripts, print material, photographs, scrapbooks, artwork, and artifacts including furniture, sports trophies, and textiles. The Fishburn Archives provides personalized academic research and information services to alumni, students, faculty, staff, and community patrons.

The Fishburn Archives and Special Collections preserves, protects, and provides information services related to Park College (1875-2000), Park University (2000 to Present), the City of Parkville, Missouri (1844 to Present), and County of Platte, Missouri (1838 to Present) records.

Access to archived materials is available by appointment. Contact the Fishburn Archives by email at archives@park.edu.

The Frances Fishburn Archives and Special Collections provides access to its collections as an unaltered, historical record. Some collection materials include images or words that are offensive. We do not support or condone these harmful ideas, and we embrace a culture that prioritizes diversity and inclusion. We make these items available because they are critically important resources for education and research, while acknowledging their impact on various peoples and groups.

Narva Yearbooks Digital Collection

For over a century, Park students compiled and edited The Narva yearbooks that chronicled the lives and events of the college and university.  These yearbooks are now digitized and accessible through the Internet Archive for page-by-page browsing or keyword searching.