Philosophy & Religion: Resources

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, websites, and more.

General editors and over 20 area editors gather articles by qualified authors. Includes e-mail addresses of authors.

Offers short, interactive video resources on a variety of philosophical topics

For the Western Philosophical tradition, including a dictionary, a history, and a timeline.

Contains nearly 1600 entries online. From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

This acclaimed podcast deals widely with topics and figures throughout the discipline. At 15 minutes each, podcasts are accessible to experts and laypeople alike.

This online community of philosophers and students aims to create a comprehensive bibliography of the field, including open source documents and user-uploaded papers. Hosted by the Center for Digital Philosophy at the University of Western Ontario.

This collection of over fifteen hundred videos is hosted by the University of Oregon. Diverse philosophers and topics are covered.

"The Philosophy Documentation Center is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing affordable access to essential resources in the humanities and social sciences. We support scholarly work in many fields with customized publishing and membership services, digitization solutions, and secure hosting. We also provide information about on-going work in philosophy and related fields in over 100 countries."

A list of identified philosophy journals from the American Philosophical Association. NOTE: Some of these journals are available through the Park University Library. Use the Journals A-Z link to view full text.

Closer To Truth is a content-driven broadcast and digital media not-for-profit organization. On the air continuously since 2000, our weekly, half-hour television show airs on over 200 PBS and public television stations. Closer To Truth’s resource-rich website features over 4,000 video interviews with world-renowned scientists and philosophers searching the vital ideas of existence. It is the definitive source for cosmos, consciousness and meaning (God), exploring profound questions of universe, brain/mind, religion, and the search for ultimate reality and purpose.

Hi-Phi Nation is a story- and sound-driven podcast about philosophy, from Slate. The show is written, edited, and produced by Barry Lam. Barry is an alum of UC Irvine and former program director and general manager at KUCI 88.9FM. A PhD in philosophy at Princeton University, Barry is Associate Professor of Philosophy at Vassar College.

The Partially Examined Life is a podcast about philosophy, philosophers and philosophical texts. The format is an informal roundtable discussion, with each episode loosely focused on a short reading that introduces at least one "big" philosophical question, concern, or idea.

Wi-Phi's mission is to introduce people to the practice of philosophy by making videos that are freely available in a form that is entertaining, interesting and accessible to people with no background in the subject. Since our aim is for people to learn how to do philosophy rather than for them to simply learn what philosophers have thought, we see it as equally important to develop the critical thinking skills that are core to the methodology of philosophy

(Association of Religion Data Archives) - Free, easy to use resource that compiles information about religion and many other social topics from the census and other sources

Excellent resource for information on a large variety of religions.

A partnership of five major institutions of Jewish scholarship, history, and art: the American Jewish Historical Society, the American Sephardi Federation, the Leo Baeck Institute, the Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.

Extensive index of links to websites on Vedic wisdom & culture, its intellectuals & political activists, organizations & educational institutions, devotees & opponents.

Free archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.

Hosted by a University of Georgia professor of religion, a resource on "Islam and the Diverse Perspectives of Muslims." Has links to videos, articles, books, and other sources. Its contents provide "a comprehensive scholarly approach to understanding Islam in the twentieth century."

Content is designed to engage users in the global dialogue about religion and spirituality and to explore and experience the world's beliefs.

News, videos, topics on faith traditions and related subjects on religion and ethics.

Contains current research and analysis focused on religion and how it impacts issues in public life and trends in the world.

Information on a large variety of religions.

Religion Online is designed to assist teachers, scholars and general "seekers" who are interested in exploring major world religion issues. An extensive library of resources, representing many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship.

A digital index of concepts, names, events, etc. associated with individual religious backgrounds and belief systems.