Library: Geology: Resources

World Events

Web resources useful for finding information on recent and current geological events such as earthquakes, volcano activity, etc.

Active Fire Mapping System
From the USDA Forest Service. Updated each Friday, or as conditions warrant.
Electronic Volcano (archive)
A window into the world of information on active volcanoes. Provides access to maps, photographs and full texts of dissertations as well as a few elusive documents.
Landslide & Debris Flow (FEMA)
Landslide Hazards (from USGS)
National Interagency Fire Center
Links on left side to maps, statistics, videos, podcasts, and wildland fire gear. Top of the page has links to prevention and educational materials.
ScienceDaily: Earth & Climate News
Volcano World: the Web's Premier Source of Volcano Info
Links on right side of page give access to sites on volcanoes and volcanic phenomena, using remote sensing images to provide near real time currency. Offers interactive experiments, interviews, and teaching resources.
WaterWatch
Site includes Google Earth, real-time streamflow, and regional streamflow data all in KML format, flood and drought watches, and recent/historical maps.
Wildfire Hazards Factsheet
From the USGS...a free downloadable PDF fact sheet.
World-Wide Earthquake Locator
Provides basic data and map displays about recent earthquakes from the (US) National Earthquake Information Center, as well as links to several related sites.

Facts and Definitions

Encyclopedia of Earth
EoE is a database about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. Free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholar/professionals who collaborate and review each other's work.
Geologic Time Scale
GeologyLink Glossary
This Dynamic Earth: the story of plate tectonics
Earth Statistics
A website that includes a rich array of documents (including images, movies, animations, and data sets) that explore the Earth and Space sciences and the historical and cultural ties between science, exploration, and the human experience.
EarthRef
Geographic Names Information System

Web Resources

Color Landform Atlas of the U.S.
Atlas organized by state, with shaded relief maps, jurisdictional maps, satellite images, and links to external sites providing geographic information.
Ground Water Atlas of the U.S.
"Describes the location, the extent, and the geologic and hydrologic characteristics of the important aquifers of the Nation." Electronic gateway to full text and maps of all available chapters, with ordering information for print copies.
Historical Topographic Map Collection
Free downloadable versions of the USGS legacy topographic map series. Collection includes all scales and all editions originally published for the entire continental U.S.
MapQuest
A popular website for maps, directions, and gas prices.
National Geologic Map Database
Contains a catalog of paper and digital geologic maps, Lexicon of Geologic Names of the United States, and list of places where geologic mapping is in progress.

Encyclopedias for Geology

Encyclopedia of Earth
EoE is a database about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. Free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholar/professionals who collaborate and review each other's work.