Library: Serial Killers and True Crime: Databases, Articles, & Court Cases

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Academic Search Complete contains all resources from Academic Search Premier, and much more.
Popular search terms: social media, anxiety, educational leadership, developmental psychology, forensic psychology, health psychology, sex crimes, forensic psychology, childhood obesity, health psychology
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Content from more than 250 journals covering homeland security, forensic science, crime scene investigation, policy development, and more.
Popular search terms: sex crimes, forensic psychology
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of 300+ journals covering criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
Popular search terms: sex crimes, forensic psychology
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of full-text journals related to terrorism and security.
Kanopy Academic Base Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
A streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 titles from a variety of subject disciplines and film producers.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Search and browse more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals across a range of disciplines, with materials dating back to 1999.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Gain deep insights into any location of interest through thousands of data variables and stunning visualizations. Reinforce your decisions with Social Explorer’s reliable data mapping capabilities.
Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes some of the most important English-language social science journals.
Popular search terms: social media, anxiety, developmental psychology, forensic psychology, health psychology
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology.
Popular search terms: social media, anxiety, developmental psychology, forensic psychology, health psychology
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Popular search terms: social media, anxiety, developmental psychology, forensic psychology, health psychology
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Popular search terms: social media, anxiety, developmental psychology, forensic psychology, health psychology

Online Articles

Cluster Analysis Examination of Serial Killer Profiling Categories: A Bottom-Up Approach
In: Journal of Investigative Psychology & Offender Profiling
Psychology may help explain why male and female serial killers differ
From Science Daily
Sexually motivated serial killers and the psychology of aggression and "evil" within a contemporary psychoanalytical perspective
In: Journal of Sexual Aggression
Corpses, popular culture and forensic science: public obsession with death
"We're Just Alike": Will Graham, Hannibal Lecter, and the Monstrous-Human
In: Studies in Popular Culture
Monsters Inc.: Serial killers and consumer culture.
In: Crime, Media, Culture
Casting Cultural Monsters: Representations of Serial Killers in U.S. and U.K. News Media
In: Howard Journal of Communications
David Schmid. Natural Born Celebrities: Serial Killers in American Culture
In: English Studies in Canada
Dark Fandoms: An Introduction and Case Study
In: Deviant Behavior

Court Cases

Historical Sources (Researching Cases Pre-1980)

Internet Archive

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Many libraries, museums, and archives post digitized materials to this site.

U.S. National Archives & Records Administration: Law Enforcement and Investigations

Historical records filed with the National Archives by various federal agencies.

Hathitrust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

State Digital Resources: Memory Projects, etc.

From the Library of Congress, a compiiled state-by-state list of digital memory projects, online historical and cultural encyclopedias, etc.

Newspapers

American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside

Includes over 200 years of newspapers published from within U.S. prisons, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.

Chronicling America

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Small Town Papers

250 small town newspapers, many of which can be searched and browsed for free.

With Elephind.com it is now possible for family historians, genealogists, and researchers to search historic digitized newspaper archives from around the globe. Elephind.com is much like Google, Bing, or other search engines but is focused on only historical, digitized newspapers. It enables you to search, for free, across many newspaper sites simultaneously, rather than having to visit each site separately. By clicking on the Elephind.com search result that interests you you'll go directly to the newspaper site which hosts that story. Access to full text may not necessarily be freely available.