Human Resources Management: Background Research

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

This institute and its partnership with HR leaders in the field fosters excellence in human resource management. Read the CAHRS Working Papers, which represent the latest research in human resource management. Discover other benefits available to CAHRS Partners.

Human Resource Executive Online offers resources including news, tools, and articles about HR.

This online guide from the Cornell University Library provides links to freely available web resources relevant for students and practitioners of human resources and personnel management.

Wharton Business School offers recent news articles and general information about the field of Human Resources.

Produced by the Center for Human Resource Management at the National Academy of Public Administration, this site provides "comprehensive and helpful services about Human Resources Management including the best practices and most current issues." The site provides information on the organization and its publications, as well as abstracts from the journal The Public Manager. Members have access to a workforce planning network online discussion group.

O*NET, the Occupational Information Network, is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics. As the replacement for the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT), O*NET will be the nation's primary source of occupational information.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years and includes information on job descriptions, training, education, earnings, job prospects, working conditions.

The website of this major U.S. association for HR practitioners provides a wealth of information for its members and for the public.

The U.S. Department of Labor's mission is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights. The website contain information on a wide variety of topics, including disability resources, evaluations, hiring, and more.

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.