It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Natural Sciences: Finding Articles
A general guide to information resources in the sciences
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher website.
PIRATE SEARCH: One box to search many databases
Other Databases Related to the Natural Sciences
SAGE PremierSearch and browse more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals across a range of disciplines, with complimentary access back to 1999.
Gale In Context: ScienceContains full-text articles from academic journals and news sources, along with multimedia content on hundreds of scientific topics
Science Reference CenterDesigned to meet the needs of student researchers, this database contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
What is a peer-reviewed journal article?
What is a peer reviewed journal article?
Peer-reviewed journals (also called "scholarly" or "academic" journals) contain original research articles within a specific subject area.
Peer-reviewed journal articles -- like this PDF example from Pirate Search -- are typically 10-40 pages in length, are reviewed by other subject experts before begin published, and share many or all of these qualities:
List authors' names, email addresses, and affiliations (e.g. Park University)
Use section headers throughout the article (these header labels may vary somewhat):
Results or Discussion
Cite references to other quality sources
NOTE: Some peer-reviewed journals will publish literature reviews, book reviews, and opinion essays. However, these should not be confused for original research articles! If you're unsure whether you've found an original research article, please contact a librarian for assistance!