Library: Music: Finding Scores

Finding Scores & Sheet Music Online

Be sure to check copyright and other limitations; these may vary from site to site!

Multi-Composer Collections

Archive of Popular American Music
UCLA Music Library provides digital versions of sheet music and performances of popular songs now in the public domain.
CCARH Publications: Scores & Parts
The Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities makes these available without cost to non-profit institutions . Commercial use is prohibited.
more...less...
Bach
Cantatas (BWV): 11, 43, 48, 213 (Hercules auf dem Scheidewege)
Chorales (185 collected from the extant cantatas)
Mass in B minor, BWV 232
Brandenburg concertos

Beethoven
Symphonies: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9.

Haydn
Symphonies: 93. 94. 95. 96. 97. 98. 99. 100. 101. 102. 103. 104.

Corelli
Trio sonatas

Handel
Op. 6 concerti
Messiah

Mozart
Symphony No. 38 K. 504 (The Prague)

Rovetta
Giovanni Rovetta, Missa Brevis for Holy Thursday (Preface) (Combined)

Vivaldi
Op. 3 concerti grossi (parts)
Op. 3 concerti (Dawson transcriptions for keyboard)
Op. 8 concerti grossi (parts)
ChoralWiki
Not all the scores which are listed on CPDL actually reside on the CPDL server. Some links point to third-party websites which may have different copyright conditions attached. Check the type of license indicated and the site the edition references for more details.
Contemporary Music Score Collection
Published by the UCLA Music Library. Includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores.
Free-scores.com
Offers contemporary, classical and educational free sheet music for all instruments. There may be restrictions on the use of the music, and that is detailed in the license page.
IMSLP - Petrucci Music Library
The International Music Score Library works to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge. Also known as the Petrucci Music Library.
Josquin Research Project
Search, browse, and analyze complete scores of polyphonic music, ca. 1420-1520.
Lester S Levy Sheet Music Collection
Over 30,000 pieces of American popular music dating back to 1780. Provided by Johns Hopkins' Sheridan Libraries & University Museums.
Musopen
Hosts over 100,000 classical sheet music pdf files, all for free and in the public domain. Browse sheet music by composer, instrument, form, or time period.
Mutopia Project
Offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, typeset by volunteers.
Sibley Music Library
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection. Hosted by the University of Rochester.

Single-Composer Collections

Beethoven String Quartets
Scores are provided on an "as is" basis. They may be used for any non-profit or educational purposes. All notices and acknowledgments must be retained.