Skip to main content

Park University Library

Local Public Library Resources


In addition to the resources offered by the Park University Library, students and faculty on the Parkville and Kansas City area campuses may take advantage of the abundant local public library resources, including access to the Kansas Public Library and Mid-Continent Public Library. Both library systems have robust print collections, as well as online resources to supplement what is available through the Park University Library. 

Kansas City Public Library

The Kansas City Public Library offers both eCards, which can be applied for and accessed online, and physical library cards, which must be applied for in person. All residents of Kansas and Missouri may apply for physical cards, while eCards are limited to residents of the Kansas City Metro area, including Park University students. To apply for an eCard from the Kansas City Public Library, see the eCard Registration Form.

To supplement the resources at Park, the Kansas City Public Library offers access to a number of electronic resources, including Electronic Collection Online, Filmmakers Library Online, International Historical Statistics, Newsbank, Novelist Plus, Oxford English Dictionary, Overdrive, and Science Reference Center. Please visit the library's page on electronic resources for a complete list. 

The closest branch of the Kansas City Public Library to Park University is the Central Branch, which is located at 14 W. 10th St, Kansas City, MO 64105.

Mid-Continent Public Library

Library cards for the Mid-Continent Public Library are available to all individuals who live, work, own property, or go to school within the MCPL district, which includes Clay, Platte, and Jackson Counties. To apply for a library card, visit the Mid-Continent Public Library website, or visit a branch in person.

To supplement the resources at Park, Mid-Continent Public Library offers access to a number of electronic resources, including African-American History Online, Agricultural Collection, American Civil War Research Database, American History Online, American Music, American National Biography, American West, Black Thought and Culture, Bloom’s Literature, Civil War Era County and Regional Histories & Atlases, Colonial State Papers, Confederate Newspapers, CQ Researcher, CultureGrams, D&B Business Browser, Daily Life Through History, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete, Financial Ratings, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Gender Studies Collection, Historical Newspapers, Interactive Science, Jazz Music Library, Military and Intelligence Database, National Geographic Archive, Newsbank Retrospective, Pop Culture Collection, Reference USA, RB Digital, Religion and Philosophy Collection, Sabin Americana 1500-1926, Safari Business Books, Scientific American, Slavery and Anti-Slavery, Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice 1490-2007, Small Business Resource Center, Statistical Abstract of the US, U.S. Newsstream, and U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection. Please visit the library's pge on electronic resources for a complete list. 

A photo of the Kansas City Public Library's book parking garage

Kansas City Public Library Contact Information


Kansas City Public Library
Central Branch
14 W. 10th Street Kansas City, MO 64105

Location: Map it
Phone: 816-701-3400


Mid-Continent Public Library Contact Information


Mid-Continent Public Library
Parkville Branch

8815 Tom Watson Pkwy.
Parkville, MO 64152

Location: Map it
Phone: 816-741-4721

Park University - McAfee Memorial Library
8700 NW River Park Drive, Box 61 - Parkville, MO - 64152
Phone: (816) 584-6285
Toll-free: (800) 270-4347